Deacons, likewise, should be worthy of respect, not hypocritical, not drinking a lot of wine, not greedy for money, holding the mystery of the faith with a clear conscience. And they must also be tested first; if they prove blameless, then they can serve as deacons. Wives, too, must be worthy of respect, not slanderers, self-controlled, faithful in everything. Deacons must be husbands of one wife, managing their children and their own households competently. For those who have served well as deacons acquire a good standing for themselves, and great boldness in the faith that is in Christ Jesus.   
I Timothy 3:8-13 (HCSB)

In Acts 6, we are told that the number of believers was growing so rapidly the disciples were getting complaints that the widows were being neglected. The ministry was simply too much for the disciples to handle alone. This is when the Biblical office of deacon was established – to help get ministry accomplished. 

The deacon body at Abba’s House does that very thing – ministry service. They serve communion, help with altar counseling, visit the sick, guard the unity, and do so many other things. They are a critical piece of our ministry and Biblical model of Christian service. They represent you and they serve you.

Every year we nominate men to serve as deacons, then hold an election. 

Please pray as you nominate up to 35 men to serve Abba’s House. Any member of this church may nominate any man of the church who has been a member for one year and who meets the scriptural qualifications. A list of our deacons who are currently serving is listed below. They are not eligible to be nominated.  Also, church staff members are not eligible.

Nominations are due by September 12.

Nominate deacons to serve

Current Abba's House Deacons

Serving through 2021

Will Blowe Ken Carroll
Jody Dodson Jim Hammon
Earl McCuiston Brent Morgan
Steve Petty Tony Quarles
Roy Royster Sam Stroud
Joey Taylor

Serving through 2022

Jim Biggs Drew Craig
Heath Davis Jesus Espinosa
Mark Hall James McClary
Danny Roark Robert Roberts
Lendon Webb Max Williams
Doug Woods

Serving through 2023

David Blair Jason Brazzell
Ron Brown Nic Coulter
Bart Dennis

Ben Doyle

Chan Fulkerson Burt Gould
Kevin Hall Chris McCallie
Gary McCallie Eddie Medlin
Stephen Moody Warren Moody
Andre Nelson Dustin Roark
James Robillard Brad Tucker
Ken Wilkerson